University of Calgary Teaching Awards

The University of Calgary Teaching Awards recognize and celebrate outstanding contributions to teaching and learning. The awards recognize excellence in diverse learning contexts, by individuals and teams, and through curriculum design and educational leadership. A University of Calgary Teaching Award is a distinguished honour for members of our university community who, through their commitment and expertise, create deep and lasting learning experiences.

The Teaching Awards are comprised of 11 categories:


The Educational Development is offering workshops to introduce the awards program and assist with the nomination process. Our educational development consultants are also able to provide assistance and feedback with preparing nomination letters and packages.

Dates and deadlines

Nominations for the University of Calgary Teaching Awards open Oct. 6, 2014. Nominations close Jan. 26, 2015.
Adjudication of the awards will take place in February 2015.

Submitting a nomination

Completed nomination packages should be submitted to
For more information on preparing and submitting an awards package, please see the Awards FAQs.

Celebration of Teaching

Recipients will be recognized at a Celebration of Teaching event on March 24, 2015, during which the awards will be presented.

Previous recipients

2014 award recipients


Natasha Kenny, Awards Program Advisor
Joni Miltenburg, Program Coordinator